Most Annoying Bug(s) in Ubuntu 8.10 for Acer Aspire 5580

I’m using Aspire 5583NWXMi with Ubuntu 8.10, and I found several annoying bugs with this release for my laptop. Maybe it could be a guide for other owners of Aspire 5580 series out there who want to upgrade to Ubuntu 8.10 IntrepidIbex.

Most Annoying Bug(s)

  1. Bug at ATA driver in kernel 2.6.27-generic. The bug causes the system to hang several seconds intermittently due to error while accessing the DVD/CD player. Base on the log, I saw that the ATA driver tried to read the DVD/CD player, eventhough it’s empty. Then, since it cannot found anything, it forced the whole ATA subsystem to restart (including the working HDD ATA driver).
  2. Bug at IPW3945 WLAN driver. The IntrepidIbex’s ipw3945 driver cannot detect the WLAN kill switch state. Once it’s turned ON (means WLAN is OFF), you cannot turn it OFF (means WLAN is ON) again. The cure for this bug is to restart the ipw3945 driver while the kill switch is OFF-ed or reboot the laptop with the kill switch OFF-ed.
  3. Un-efficient Power Consumption. Under SuSE Enterprise Linux Desktop 10, my laptop can last for 3-hours with full battery. With IntrepidIbex, it can only last for 1-hour with full battery (eventhough the WLAN is OFF). I guess there’s some problem with the ACPI driver, but I haven’t found the exact cause yet.

Well, I hope I could finish my kernel training soon to fix the bug..hohoho..


  1. For ATA driver problem, it seems like it’s not the kernel nor Ubuntu problem. It’s the Samsung’s DVD player problem.

    Refer to this page: http://ata.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/Known_issues#TSSTCorp_TS-L632D

    To check your DVD ROM version:

    # cat /proc/scsi/scsi 
    Attached devices:
    Host: scsi0 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
      Vendor: ATA      Model: WDC WD600UE-22KV Rev: 01.0
      Type:   Direct-Access                    ANSI  SCSI revision: 05
    Host: scsi0 Channel: 00 Id: 01 Lun: 00
      Vendor: TSSTcorp Model: CD/DVDW TS-L632D Rev: ac00
      Type:   CD-ROM                           ANSI  SCSI revision: 05
    

    The solutions:
    a) With MS-Windows partition inside: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux-source-2.6.20/+bug/75295/comments/97
    b) Without MS-Windows partition inside: https://bugs.launchpad.net/system76/+bug/117441/comments/25

    I haven’t tried it yet. I’ll repost when I’ve done it

  2. Hi,

    good effort!

    how could i reach your email?

  3. Okay. It’s been a week since I did my DVD ROM firmware upgrade using the (b) solution.

    Everything now runs smoothly. No more hangs, I still can play the VCD/DVD, I can read my backup DVD, but I haven’t tested its burning capabilities.

    Let’s hope that it still works..




Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories


